darling,

oh darling. i miss seeing you everyday.
you still send me photographs but it’s not the same.
nothing captures the light in your eyes, or the way you muffle your laughter just right.
days like these are days i’d like to call you up and choke my words down,
just to hear your voice again,
though you’d like to hide behind jokes and nonchalance.

don’t call yourself worthless, darling,
when you mean the world to me.
don’t say that you’re mediocre,
when you’ve pulled me out of the abyss multiple times.

i still flip through our old conversations,
and you stuck by me all this time.
thank you for being genuine,
thank you for being you.
i’m so sorry.

and i would tell you all of these things,
write them in clouds streaking across the sky just so you could see,
but you’re away,
and i’ve left months ago.

Leave a comment